|
April 7, 2009 - Scams Targetting Printing Companies Here is an interesting email I received inquiring about a print job. Kind of funny as TBayIT does not provide printing services.
Received From: mr.willromero@yahoo.com Hello Well am Will Romero with will & son co ltd and i want a print estimate with the following spec : 1. 80# Gloss Text or Aqueous Coating 2. Measures 8.5' x 11' 3. 0.25cm - White boarder 4. One sided printing 5. Full Color 6. Provide quote on 80,000 Copies 7. Is Credit Card Payment acceptable - please advise 8. Quote must exclude shipping because it will be picked-up - please advise God Bless you - please quote accordingly or get back to me so that i can supply art-work. Will Romero
How do I know this is a scam? Here are the signs: 1. Bad grammar 2. The term "God Bless you" - scammers often use lines like this to make you feel better 3. Wanted to pick up, use credit card and no samples provided 4. Email used Yahoo email account (watch out for free accounts as scammers never use legitimate or traceable emails) 5. Email originated from Ghana (to check this look at the headers in the email by viewing the message source and look for a line like this: Received: from [41.210.42.153] by web44708.mail.sp1.yahoo.com via HTTP; Tue, 07 Apr 2009 16:38:10 PDT The IP Address 41.210.42.153 resolves to a city called Accra in the Country of Ghana (http://private.dnsstuff.com/tools/ipall.ch?ip=41.210.42.153
I replied and said I would help him and will post the follow-up here. If nothing else, I can waste their time and warn others to not fall victim to scams like these.
Return to all Blogs
|